GENEROSITY. The power of Giving.

Published November 28, 2006 by axinia

 “Generosity is the only way you can express your love for others”

                                  Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi

 

 

by Caecilia

Are you somebody who is giving? Feeling happy to share things? Enjoying your generosity? Most of us are that type, though the mass media is trying to convince publics that the society consists of egoistical individuals.

 

 

It is amazing how persistently through the last decades we have been told all this ego-oriented nonsense. It is absurd how the modern psychology is trying to explain the motivation of generosity: one gives and gets satisfaction of being appreciated. The people who made this up must have been very greedy people themselves!  – The true Giving never seeks any appreciation. It gives, because it is its nature.
As soon as we stop seeking the ego-oriented motivation in the most beautiful handlings of our fellow men we will live better, for sure!

 

Lavishness versus efficiency


Let’s look at the Mother-nature: it is tremendously generous und loving to the extend of lavishness! A feast of lavish beauty can be seen every spring and summer in the gardens and meadows. Just the same is with a fish: it produces many thousands eggs and only a tiny part of them will become fish. The Cosmos itself is nothing but a huge arena of lavishness with its billiards and billiards of galaxies, stars and planets – and only the Earth is populated with living beings. Lavishness is naturally the evolutional principle.
If the nature would act according to the economic law of efficiency the whole living process could probably never take place.
But we learn efficiency at universities. We work efficiently. We study efficiently. We teach our children to behave and to think efficiently. And the nature is laughing at us and keeps giving.
 

 

Studies on generosity

While we don’t quite understand all the reasons why giving creates good health, many studies have documented generosity’s positive effects. Michigan researchers who studied 2,700 people for almost ten years found that men who regularly did volunteer work had death rates two-and-one half times lower than men who didn’t. In a separate study, volunteers who worked directly with those who benefited from their services had a greater immune system boost than those whose volunteer work was restricted to pushing papers.

 

Teaching as generosity

 

Do you like teaching? Most of people do! Somehow or rather people like to teach each other, in all possible forms: officially and spontaneously, from friend to friend, peer to peer, boss to employee, parent to child… Have you ever thought that teaching is a sign of generosity?  Sharing the knowledge or at least trying to do that for the true knowledge can only be obtained through the personal experience.

 

Nature of generosity

 

In fact, every human being has a subtle value centre on the left hand side of the abdomen responsible for generosity. If the power of generosity is awakened you can not but give – your love, care, time, attention, presents, beauty… One can stimulate this value centre by acting generously (though if this quality is not there, people almost suffer while sharing and giving, and it is a long way to learn it).

The easy and fast way is to give vibrations (using your right hand) to the left hand side of your abdomen and may be using some simple clearing techniques of Sahaja Yoga. And it works! Suddenly you do not force yourself but you become that! The generosity, in its most beautiful form starts flowing through you and you enjoy, enjoy and enjoy… 

 

 by multiflora

 

 

Being generous without thinking what one can get in return. Being generous without counting the benefits. Not thinking of image, appreciation, acknowledgement. Just being generous – is it that much? By generosity we nourish our hearts – we are giving what is given to us.

love,

axinia

 

19 comments on “GENEROSITY. The power of Giving.

  • The issue of present giving is so topical (I believe it was topical at all the times of the human history) especially as the favourite holidays of almost all people are coming. I have read recently that the time of Christmas and the New Year’s Eve is actually the most stressful time for people as they spend a lot of money on presents.

    How much easier life would be if we did not count the money we spend on presents every time but just think of the person who we are going to give this or that present and of a piece of our soul that we are giving him/her together with it.
    The issue of presents is a very interesting topic which once I also dwelled on
    http://seekers.yuvashakti.ru/?p=53
    (though the article is only in Russian so far).

  • Thanks for the comment. True, the generosity issue is getting more relevant towards the end of the year😉
    I was amazed to find very few informaiton about generosity in internet! – seems like the topic as it is has not become so obvoiusly important – though it lays at the core of the human nature!!!

  • Love without compassion is like half bucket full. Love in its’ complete fullnes has no where to go but to share. Generosity of giving is nothing but creating bottomless well of love.

    Again Beautiful piece and thank you!

  • Nice post. There is a related quote about knowledge – “Knowledge always multiplies when you share it with others. It multiplies for the other person and more so, for yourself” This, I think is true. Instead of keeping the information with oneself and think we know everything about it, it would help everyone once it is shared (incl the person who is sharing).

  • I am a little uncomfortable with the term ‘giving’.

    Reading your blog and interacting with you has been enriching, spiritually stimulating and even therapeutic.

    But I saw it as ‘sharing’ out of ‘compassion’; contrast it with ‘giving’ out of ‘generosity’. For a receiver, there is a vast difference in the two.

    Just my thoughts, Axinia🙂

  • I never thought of that, my friend… In fact, i was always sure I lack compassion🙂
    Giving is a very female quality – I give beacuse I have, I love because I can not not love…. I dont think of the other side (does your ego gets hurt if somebody is being generous to you??). It is something I am, nothing more.

  • I won’t get too hurt by generosity, but I will surrender myself to compassion.

    The difference (as I see) is this:
    Generosity has its origin in a desire to make others happy.

    Compassion is born out of pain at the sight of others grief.

    You tell me Axinia, which is more feminine – generosity or compassion.
    (Please say, at least you are more compassionate than generous🙂

    Can I argue, generosity implies ownership with a touch of condescension.

  • Swaps, as I mentioned before, I guess I dont understand compassion much, and this is my biggerst spiritual aim to acheive in this life…
    If I see soneones greef – i give my support, but I love to give also to people who are happy. Giving is the point, not the reason for giving – either it is generosity or compassion, does not matter to me. It is my nature and I can not act otherwise.
    Regarind the owneship of generosity – I dont really see it that way. At least not in the way of TRUE generosity. It often happens to me, that I conpletely forget what I gave or where I helped people, and the others remember it for years together and thank me now and when – which I find strage because I really dont remember🙂

    I have a feeling that you can not see my point bacause you a man. And that is good so!🙂

  • I am seeing your point. Today a famous cinematographer responded to my request for an appraisal of my photos. He has taken time to study it and has given valuable tips. I was so glad and you know what, I thought “He is so generous”. That moment I realized what you have been saying🙂

    I think my cynicism may be forgiven because most people are generous so that people may see they are generous. Anyway, leave them aside.

    (Btw, Axinia did you see my comment on “book on romance after marriage” ?
    You will appreciate it a lot.)

  • The issue of generosity is quite complicated to deduce. As much as generosity embodies giving out, when one does so expecting a good feeling in return, he is not generous at all. This is like the person is trading generosity for a good feeling, therefore the significance of generosity is eroded.

  • Leave a Reply

